Absa Bank (Mauritius) Limited
A Mauritius-licensed commercial bank serving retail, corporate, high-net-worth, and small-business customers under the Absa brand.
Last updated August 25, 2026
Overview
Absa Bank (Mauritius) Limited is a commercial bank headquartered in Ebene, Mauritius, and a subsidiary of Absa Group Limited, the South African financial-services group. The bank operates under a licence issued by the Bank of Mauritius, the country’s central bank and banking regulator. Its customer base includes retail clients, corporate and institutional customers, high-net-worth individuals, and small and medium-sized enterprises. The institution developed from banking operations in Mauritius associated with Barclays. The oldest predecessor identified in the bank’s historical record was a branch of The National Bank of South Africa established in Mauritius in 1919. Those operations later became part of Barclays’ international banking network. In 2002, Barclays Bank Mauritius acquired Banque Nationale de Paris Intercontinentale, adding six branches to Barclays’ existing Mauritian network. The business subsequently underwent changes in legal form and ownership as Barclays reorganized its African operations. Until 1 June 2013, Barclays Bank Mauritius operated as a branch of Barclays. It was incorporated as Barclays Bank Mauritius Limited on that date and became part of Barclays Africa Group during the same year. Barclays Plc initially retained a controlling interest of 62.3 percent in the African group. Barclays later reduced its holding, including a reduction to 14.9 percent in 2017. In 2018, Barclays Africa Group adopted the name Absa Group Limited as part of a wider rebranding and separation from the Barclays brand. The Mauritian bank completed its corresponding legal and commercial rebranding on 10 February 2020. On that date, the Bank of Mauritius cancelled the licence held by Barclays Bank Mauritius Limited and issued a new banking licence to the entity under the name Absa Bank (Mauritius) Limited. The change made the Absa name the bank’s legal and operating identity in Mauritius. The bank’s business scope is that of a diversified commercial bank, although the available reference material does not provide a complete current catalogue of account, lending, investment, payments, or digital-banking products. Its stated market coverage spans consumer banking, business banking, corporate banking, and services for affluent customers. As a locally licensed entity, it is distinct from Absa Group Limited and from Absa-branded banking subsidiaries operating in other African markets. The bank’s headquarters are at Absa House in Cybercity, Ebene, approximately 16 kilometres south of Port Louis. A historical reference reports that the bank had assets of MUR 127.295 billion and shareholders’ equity of MUR 16.011 billion as of September 2010. These figures describe the bank at that historical point and should not be interpreted as current financial data. No current financial figures, current website address, or complete present-day executive roster are established by the supplied sources.
History
The history of Absa Bank (Mauritius) Limited is rooted in the development of international banking operations in Mauritius. According to the historical account associated with the bank, The National Bank of South Africa established a Mauritian branch in 1919. This operation later became part of the Barclays banking network, linking the local business to the wider history of Barclays’ African activities. A significant expansion occurred in 2002, when Barclays Bank Mauritius acquired Banque Nationale de Paris Intercontinentale. The transaction added six branches to the thirteen branches already operated by Barclays in Mauritius, strengthening the bank’s physical network and customer reach. The bank subsequently passed through additional changes involving mergers, acquisitions, and divestitures, although the supplied material does not specify every transaction or its financial terms. For much of its modern history, the Mauritian operation was conducted as a branch of Barclays rather than as a separately incorporated local bank. That structure changed on 1 June 2013, when Barclays Bank Mauritius was incorporated as Barclays Bank Mauritius Limited. In the same year, the entity became part of Barclays Africa Group. Barclays Plc held a controlling 62.3 percent interest in that group at the time, making the Mauritian bank part of a large pan-African banking structure while it continued to operate in the Mauritian market. The ownership and brand context changed during the second half of the 2010s. Barclays decided to divest its majority shareholding in Barclays Africa Group, a holding described in the historical material as being worth £3.5 billion in 2016. Barclays reduced its stake to 14.9 percent in 2017. Barclays Africa Group then rebranded as Absa Group Limited in 2018. The rebranding was intended to replace the Barclays identity across the group’s African subsidiaries, with a transition period allowing the subsidiaries to change their names. In Mauritius, the transition concluded on 10 February 2020. The Bank of Mauritius cancelled the licence of Barclays Bank Mauritius Limited and issued a new licence to the company under the name Absa Bank (Mauritius) Limited. Both the legal identity and the public-facing business identity consequently changed to Absa. This was a regulated corporate and brand transition rather than the creation of an entirely new local banking franchise. The bank is headquartered at Absa House, 68 Wall Street, Cybercity, Ebene. Its market role is that of a broad commercial bank serving retail customers, corporate clients, high-net-worth individuals, and SMEs. Governance is described as being conducted by a ten-person board of directors, with Iqbal Rajahbalee identified as chairman and Ravin Dajee as managing director and chief executive officer. The supplied reference does not establish whether those individuals remain in those positions today. A historical financial snapshot records assets of MUR 127.295 billion and shareholders’ equity of MUR 16.011 billion as of September 2010. Because the figures are both dated and presented in a historical reference, they are not treated as current performance indicators. Current assets, earnings, capital ratios, branch numbers, product details, and management changes require confirmation from current disclosures by the bank, the Bank of Mauritius, or Absa Group.
- 2020Mauritian legal and commercial rebrand completed
On 10 February 2020, the Bank of Mauritius cancelled the Barclays Bank Mauritius Limited licence and issued a new licence to Absa Bank (Mauritius) Limited.
- 2018Barclays Africa Group becomes Absa Group
Barclays Africa Group adopted the Absa Group Limited name, initiating the rebranding of its African subsidiaries.
- 2017Barclays reduces its Barclays Africa Group stake
Barclays reduced its holding in Barclays Africa Group to 14.9 percent, changing the ownership context for the Mauritian banking subsidiary.
- 2013Incorporation as Barclays Bank Mauritius Limited
The former Barclays branch operation was incorporated as Barclays Bank Mauritius Limited on 1 June 2013 and joined Barclays Africa Group during the same year.
- 2002Acquisition of Banque Nationale de Paris Intercontinentale
Barclays Bank Mauritius acquired Banque Nationale de Paris Intercontinentale, adding six branches to its existing Mauritian network.
- 1919The National Bank of South Africa establishes a Mauritian branch
The bank’s historical lineage traces back to a branch of The National Bank of South Africa established in Mauritius, later becoming part of the Barclays-related banking operations in the country.
Products and positioning
A locally regulated, diversified commercial bank serving Mauritian consumers, businesses, corporate clients, affluent individuals, and SMEs within the Absa Group network.
Retail bankingConsumer banking
The bank serves retail customers as part of its commercial-banking activities. The supplied reference confirms the customer segment but does not provide a sufficiently detailed current list of deposit accounts, consumer loans, cards, payment services, or digital products.
Corporate and institutional bankingCommercial banking
Corporate clients are identified as a core customer group. The available material does not specify the current structure of lending, treasury, trade finance, cash-management, or other corporate services.
High-net-worth bankingAffluent banking
Absa Bank Mauritius serves high-net-worth individuals within its broader commercial-banking model. Specific wealth-management propositions, eligibility criteria, and investment services are not established by the supplied sources.
SME bankingBusiness banking
Small and medium-sized enterprises are among the bank’s stated customer segments. The reference material does not identify particular SME accounts, credit facilities, advisory services, or digital tools.
Marketing campaigns
- 2018Absa brand transition
Mauritius · Other African markets
Following the rebranding of Barclays Africa Group as Absa Group Limited, the group began transitioning its African subsidiaries from Barclays branding to Absa branding.
Outcome. The Mauritian transition concluded in February 2020 with the bank’s legal and commercial name changing to Absa Bank (Mauritius) Limited.
Brand decisions
- 2020Complete the transition from Barclays to AbsaStrategy
The parent group’s 2018 rebrand required its African subsidiaries to replace the Barclays identity.
What changed. On 10 February 2020, the Bank of Mauritius cancelled the Barclays Bank Mauritius Limited licence and issued a new licence to Absa Bank (Mauritius) Limited.
Aftermath. The bank’s legal and operating identity became Absa Bank (Mauritius) Limited while continuing its role as a commercial bank in Mauritius.
- 2013Separate incorporation of the Mauritian banking operationStrategy
The Mauritian operation had previously functioned as a branch of Barclays.
What changed. Barclays incorporated the operation as Barclays Bank Mauritius Limited on 1 June 2013 and placed it within Barclays Africa Group.
Aftermath. The bank became a separately incorporated Mauritian entity within the group’s African banking structure.
- 2002Acquire Banque Nationale de Paris IntercontinentaleM&A
Barclays Bank Mauritius expanded its local network through the acquisition of Banque Nationale de Paris Intercontinentale.
What changed. The transaction added six branches to Barclays’ existing thirteen-branch network in Mauritius.
Aftermath. The acquisition strengthened Barclays’ local branch presence, although the supplied material does not provide transaction value or subsequent performance data.
Leadership
| Name | Title | Tenure |
|---|---|---|
| Iqbal Rajahbalee | Chairman of the Board and non-executive director | — |
| Ravin Dajee | Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer | — |
Recent events
- 2020Mauritian banking licence changes accompany the Absa rebrand
The Bank of Mauritius cancelled the licence of Barclays Bank Mauritius Limited and issued a new licence to Absa Bank (Mauritius) Limited. The bank’s legal and business names changed to Absa.
RegulationCampaign - 2018Barclays Africa Group adopts the Absa name
Barclays Africa Group rebranded as Absa Group Limited, beginning the transition of its African banking subsidiaries away from the Barclays identity.
Campaign - 2017Barclays reduces its holding in Barclays Africa Group
Barclays reduced its shareholding in Barclays Africa Group to 14.9 percent as part of its withdrawal from majority ownership of the African banking group.
Other - 2013Barclays Bank Mauritius incorporated as a separate banking company
The Mauritian operation ceased operating solely as a Barclays branch and was incorporated as Barclays Bank Mauritius Limited. It also became part of Barclays Africa Group during the year.
M&A
Sources
Cite this profile: Cite the canonical profile. /brand-wiki/absa-bank-mauritius-limited · Editorial policy · How profiles are compiled